New Years Honours 2019 - Congratulations to our Members!

Congratulations to all the staff and trustees of our members who have been acknowledged for their contribution to the sector in the New Year's Honours list 2019. We've spotted a grand total of 16 London Funders members on the list: 

  • Mary Ney – (Formerly) Royal Borough of Greenwich – Damehood
  • Richard Scudmore – Premier League – CBE
  • Ian Thomas – Royal Borough of Kingston – CBE
  • Michael Edwards – Save the Children – OBE
  • Paul Lindley – (Chair of London’s Child Obesity Taskforce) Greater London Authority – OBE 
  • Adam Matan – Hammersmith United Charities - OBE
  • Richard Pounds – Save the Children – OBE
  • Jonathan Valabhji– Imperial College NHS Trust – OBE
  • Deputy John Bennett – City of London Corporation – MBE
  • Theo Blackwell – Greater London Authority – MBE
  • David Dein – Premier League – MBE
  • Charles Reed – London Marathon Charitable Trust – MBE
  • Ian Swift – London Borough of Southwark – MBE
  • Joan Wilson – London Borough of Lambeth – MBE
  • Tony Brown – London Borough of Islington – B.E.M.
  • Christine Williams – Save the Children – B.E.M.

Overall 70% of the honours recipients are people who have undertaken outstanding work in their communities either in a voluntary or paid capacity - including many Londoners. Examples include Stephen Addison - a former London gang member who runs boxing classes in Barking and Dagenham to draw young people away from crime, who has been awarded the British Empire Medal and Imam Mahmoud who has been awarded an OBE for bringing the Finsbury Park community together the after June 2017 terror attack.

Many emergency service workers who supported communities in North Kensington, London Bridge, Westminster and Manchester have been recognised for their bravery too. We would like to thank these individuals for their continued hard work in keeping us safe.